top of page

How Well Did I Love?


Someday I’ll pass through the great sky above,

And the first thing I’ll ask, “Lord, how well did I love?”

How well did I really understand your heart?

Your best & highest thoughts did I even grasp?

Someday I’ll pass through the great sky above,

My life then like a shadow fading in the dark.

Not a moment of pain is wasted in thrive

Longing for you in the darkest of night.

Someday I’ll pass through the great sky above,

Meeting you face to face is reason enough.

No more pain. No more anguish. No more sadness & tears.

All my sorrow will finally cease & disappears.

But here I am,

Meeting heaven on earth.

The finest words I know could not begin to tell

Painted skies and a spinning globe aren’t enough to share

The beauty of your love, a redemption of forever.

Even the rainbow tells your story

Even the rain speaks of your mercy.

The color of my every dream,

The calm of my heart like still waters in a stream,

You’re everything that my soul ever longed for

Too marvelous for words and so much more.

The thunder of your power who can ever understand,

The outskirts of your glory are like whispers in the sand.

How can I not love you back?

You first loved me.

While a sinner, You died for me.

You showed me the way by the blood You have shed.

You called for service by the life you have lived.

You cared for the poor

You made sure orphans are looked for

You stopped for a bleeding woman

You pulled the deaf and the blind man

You lavished your time

And spent your whole life

To widows, collectors of tax,

Souls who will never be able to pay you back.

But you know the way that I take, O Lord

And I failed you many times though I come forth as gold.

You know, you know

The storms that would my way oppose

You know, you know

And tempers every wind that blows.

I keep telling myself I don’t deserve a second chance from You,

Remind me O Lord I didn’t deserve the first one, too.

So let me live like never before

Even now, I’ll return with all my heart and soul.

To serve you like it’s my only chance.

The gospel be the center, the Rock on which I stand.

Give me more grace as my burdens grow greater,

Send me more strength as my labor increase,

To added afflictions, You added mercy,

To multiplied trials, You multiplied peace.

When I have exhausted my store of endurance,

When my strength has failed after the day is half-done

When I reach the end of my hoarded resources,

My Father, Your full giving has only begun.

So as I sail through Your calling,

You’re my anchor of survival.

As I think of healing,

You’re thinking of revival.

To celebrate a life that has sown Your riches of light and glee

I will see Your goodness in a land that is full, alive and free.

I will thrive in a spacious place, not only will I make it,

To stand on Your grace, I will live to tell the world about it.

One Name alone I’m living for,

One name my heart and soul adore.

Be the first and the last,

Be the song that I sing.

Jesus, be my everything.

And on that day when my strength will fail,

My time will come as the end shall draw near,

I’ll pass through the great sky above,

And the first thing I’ll ask,

“Lord, how well,

How well did I love?”

(Disclaimer: Some parts are inspired by my favorite songs.)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page