top of page

After Your Own Heart


As you speak tenderly I clearly hear,

“I will betroth you to me forever;

I will betroth you to me in steadfast love and mercy.”

That’s what you said and I know I’m taken completely.

I wonder why my heart longs for that, too.

That this betrothal will lead me to finally be with You.

You made me in your own image,

in your image You created me.

You made me in your own likeness,

In your own likeness you formed me.

That means my heart was made after you

That means my heart wants what you want too

That means I’m a woman after your very own heart,

After your every longings and after your every want.

That if I want to love and be loved,

If I want someone who’s faithful and someone I can trust,

If I want someone who’s devoted to me ‘til the end

and would stand firm for me ‘til eternity’s mend,

It only speaks of who you are, Lord.

‘Cause just like my heart that is after you,

You delight in someone who loves you too,

You delight in someone who’s faithful ‘til the end,

Someone who would be devoted ‘til eternity’s mend,

Someone who would stand firm for you,

Someone who would trust and need you too.

That if I want to be pursued and fought for,

That if I want to be the helper and stand for my man in his battles.

It’s who you are, O God, telling me to pursue you and fight for you.

‘Cause more than I could ever fathom

You want me, Lord, as much as I need you.

And as I marvel in looking at who You are,

Almighty God, Wonderful Savior, full of strength and full of vigor.

I understood the hearts of men as well.

Their identity that comes from You, their very label.

Now it’s clear to me at its finest

Why they always want to be the first,

To win, to conquer and to be the very best.

They want to fight for their love, be the hero and be the savior,

Why they really want to be the knight and shining armor.

They want to show that they have what it takes,

That they are strong, they are able & can be trusted.

They want to be our man.

And they want to be the only one.

I see that’s just simply Your very heart, O God.

A complete replica of who you are from the start.

You want to be the best in us,

You want to be our first and our last,

You want to win and conquer us,

You want to fight for Your love for us,

You want to be our hero and our Savior,

You want to be our knight and shining armor.

You want us to be secured that You have what it takes,

That You are strong, You are able and you can be trusted.

You want to be our God.

And You want to be the only one.

What incomparable joy it is to be created just like You, O God.

What assurance it brings to my deepest thoughts and longings from above.

That when two hearts meet together and finally be reunited,

They will love each other with hearts not ordinary but sacred.

Hearts created after Your very own heart,

Steadfast and true from the very start.

(Inspired by my QT & LAYF reflections: February 12, 2010)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page